According to the Statutes, the Board consists of nine members, elected by the General Assembly, including two Vice-Presidents and the ALLEA President who chairs the Board. The Vice Presidents are elected from among the members of the Board. The President of EASAC is also invited to the meetings of the ALLEA Board.

Bern meeting

The ALLEA Board in Bern (absent: Brigitte Mazohl, Hubert Bocken, Krista Varantola)

The ALLEA Board for 2016 – 2018 was elected on the occasion of the General Assembly in Vienna on 19 April 2016:

  • Germany: Günter Stock, Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities (President/Chair)
  • Austria: Brigitte Mazohl, Austrian Academy of Sciences
  • Belgium: Hubert Bocken, The Royal Flemish Academy of Belgium for Science and the Arts
  • Bulgaria: Nikolay G. Miloshev, Bulgarian Academy of Sciences
  • Finland: Krista Varantola, Council of Finnish Academies
  • Israel: Ruth Arnon, The Israel Academy of Sciences and Humanities
  • Italy: Carlo D’Adda, Accademia Nazionale dei Lincei
  • Netherlands: Ed Noort, Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (Vice President)
  • Slovakia: Daniela Jezova, Slovak Academy of Sciences (Vice President)
  • Switzerland: Jürg Pfister, Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences
  • United Kingdom: Graham Caie, The Royal Society Of Edinburgh

Meetings in 2016

December 2016: Tba

September 2016: Georgian Academy of Sciences

June 2016: National Academy of Sciences of Belarus

March 2016: Romanian Academy

Past Board Meetings