Permanent Working Group Science and Ethics

The Permanent Working Group on Science and Ethics (PWGSE) is concerned with a wide range of problems, ‘internal’ (within the scientific community) and ‘external’ (relations between science and society). Since ethical considerations have been an essential component in the consolidation of the new Europe, and in the creation of ALLEA, the PWGSE has been extending its capacities and activities during recent years, in order to fulfil adequately its mission of collective deliberation on topics like those listed below.

Grppenbild Stockholm 1

The working group at their meeting in Stockholm

The PWGSE meets at least twice a year and also convenes thematic meetings in wider settings, typically in partnerships with other relevant organizations such as European Science Foundation (ESF), the European Commission, the Council of Europe, Pugwash, International Council for Science (ICSU), or UNESCO. Some of the issues recently addressed include: scientific integrity and research misconduct, research on human embryos, quantitative evaluation of research,ethical aspects of risk, education in ethics.



For recent meetings and meeting documents, see below.

Past and present topics

1. Research Integrity
2. Plagiarism
3. Ethics Education as part of research training
4. Ethics of scientific policy advice
5. Emerging issues: synthetic biology, nanotechnology, robotics a.o.
6. Role of Ethics Committees
7. Support for Higher Education and research in Palestine
8. Science and Human Rights
9. Trust in science

Selected Recent Publications

PWGSE Private sponsoringPrivate sponsoring in the science enterprise, trust in science and academic freedom






Education a léthique des sciences CoverEthics Education in Science and its French translation, Education à l’éthique des sciences





Front-EuropeanCoCResIntALLEA/ESF joint report Research Integrity






PWGSE Research integrityBackground Paper:The European Code of Conduct on Research Integrity








Göran Hermerén (Chair) – Royal Swedish Academy of Letters, History and Antiquities
Anna Benaki – Academy of Athens
Anne Fagot-Largeault – Académie des Sciences, France
László Fésüs – Hungarian Academy of Sciences
Maura Hiney – Royal Irish Academy
Ludger Honnefelder – Union of the German Academies of Sciences and Humanities
Bertil Emrah Oder – The Science Academy (Turkey)
Roger Pfister – The Swiss Academies of Arts and Sciences
Martyn Pickersgill – Royal Society of Edinburgh
Pere Puigdomenech – Royal Academy of Sciences and Arts of Barcelona
Kirsti Strøm Bull – Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters
Zbigniew Szawarski – Polish Academy of Sciences
Els van Damme – Royal Academy of Sciences, Letters and Arts of Belgium
Martin van Hees – Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences
Krista Varantola – Council of Finnish Academies
NN – Slovenian Academy of Sciences
Raivo Uibo – Estonian Academy of Sciences

Recent Meetings

February 2016
Permanent Working Group meeting, Stockholm

March 2015
Permanent Working Group meeting, Berlin

November 2014
Joint meeting of the Permanent Workings Groups Science & Ethics and Intellectual Property Rights, Bavarian Academy, Munich

October 2014
Permanent Working Group meeting, The Royal Academy of Sciences and Arts of Barcelona, Barcelona

April 2014
Permanent Working Group meeting, Hungarian Academy of Sciences, Budapest

Latest Tweets