stockGünter Stock, President

Professor Günter Stock has been serving as ALLEA President since 2012, and has been re-elected in 2015 to continue his presidency until 2018.In 2016-2017, he chaired the consortium of academy networks: Science Advice for Policy by European Academies (SAPEA), which provides support to the European Commission’s Scientific Advice Mechanism (SAM). A physiologist by training, Günter Stock has held many positions in the field of academia. Between 2006 and 2015, he was President of the Berlin-Brandenburg Academy of Sciences and Humanities. Additionally, between 2008 and 2015, he served as President of the Union of German Academies of Sciences and Humanities. Professor Stock is a member of acatech – The German National Academy of Science and Engineering and Academia Europaea among others. He has been awarded multiple honorary doctorates including by the Ludwig-Maximilians-University in Munich, the Dimitrie Cantemir University in Bucharest and by the Academy of Sciences of Moldova in Chisinau.

In his career as a scientist and science manager, Günter Stock has authored, edited, and co-edited numerous scientific publications and has been involved in the production of over 370 scientific and science-policy papers as well as in the creation of several patents in the medical field.
He was a member of the executive board of the pharmaceutical firm Schering AG, responsible for research and development, and was previously Professor of Vegetative Physiology at the University of Heidelberg. He was Vice-President and member of the Senate and Executive Committee of the Max Planck Society (MPG) until 2011 and Chair of the Jury of the Deutscher Zukunftspreis of the Federal President of Germany until 2012. Günter Stock was awarded the Officer’s Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany in 2006, followed by the awarding of the Commander’s Cross of the Order of Merit of the Federal Republic of Germany in 2012. In addition, he holds the Award of the Order of Merit of Berlin.
Günter Stock serves, inter alia, as Chair of the Executive Board of the Einstein Foundation, as a member of the Advisory Board of the German Association of the Friends of the Weizmann Institute, and as a member of the Supervisory Board of Charité – University Medicine Berlin.


jezova_daniela_fDaniela Jezova, Vice President

Daniela Jezova is Vice President of the Slovak Academy of Sciences and Senior Researcher of the Institute of Experimental Endocrinology, being a full professor of pharmacology at the Medical School of Comenius University Bratislava (Slovakia). She is internationally recognized for her work in stress research including investigation of risk factors, particularly in relation to stress hormones and psychiatric disorders. She coordinated a successful FP5 EU Centre of Excellence project, is serving as an expert for FP6 and FP7 projects, and represents her academy in EASAC. Among others, Daniela Jezova was awarded the prestigious national prize Crystal Wing for Medicine and Science and the Medal of the Association of the Slovak Physicians.


Prof. NoortEd Noort, Vice President

Born in Haarlem in the Netherlands  (1944), Ed Noort was educated at the universities of Amsterdam, Kampen, and Göttingen, where he studied Theology, Science of Religion, Semitic Languages and Archaeology of the Near East. After professorships at the Protestant Theological Seminary of Kampen (1979, Old Testament) and the University of Hamburg (1989, Old Testament and Archaeology of Palestine), he held the chair of Ancient Hebrew Literature, the History of Religion and Material Culture of Palestine at the University of Groningen from 1993 until 2009.

He served as a dean of the faculty and as prorector of the University from 2005 to 2008. From 1993 to 2008, he was Director of Research of his faculty. He was a Visiting Professor in Bangalore, India, in Princeton, NJ, a Research Fellow of the CTI (Princeton, NJ) and Professor Extraordinaire of the University of Stellenbosch, SA, where he was elected as an honorary member of the South African Old Testament Society. He is a former President of the Old Testament Society in the Netherlands and Belgium, of the Committee of Dutch and Eastern Europe Theological Faculties and Institutes and of the European Association for Biblical Studies. He was also President of the Colloquium Biblicum Lovaniense 2010 (Leuven).

Professor Noort has published widely in the fields of Archaeology of Palestine and the literary traditions, the book of Joshua and the history of reception, hermeneutics, and historiography ( From 2009 to 2011, he held the position of Honorary Professor at the University of Groningen. In 1998 he was elected as a member of the Royal Netherlands Academy of Arts and Sciences (KNAW) and served as a Board Member of the Division of Humanities and Social Sciences (2002-2008) and as a vice-chair from 2005-2008. From 2008-2011 he was the Academy’s Foreign Secretary, focusing on scientific cooperation within Europe and with China and Africa. He is a member of the Board of ALLEA and chair of the Search Committee. In 2010 he was elected as a member of the Royal Holland Society of Sciences and Humanities. He is the Secretary of Teylers Godgeleerd Genootschap and an elected member of the Academia Europaea (2011). At Groningen, he is the Chair of the University’s Committee on Scientific Integrity. In 2009, the Queen awarded Professor Noort a Knighthood in the Order of the Netherlands Lion.


Past Presidencies